Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Dr. N. Basavaiah

Dr. N. Basavaiah
Professor F
H.Q Panvel
Contact Number: 
Academic Record: 
  • Ph.D. in Geophysics, University of Mumbai, Maharashtra (1994).
    - Study of Earth’s interior through geomagnetic methods-Satellite-derived gravity and magnetic anomalies.
  • M.Sc. (Tech.) in Geophysics, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh (1985).
  • B.Sc. in Physics, Nagarjuna University, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh (1982).
Research Area: 



  • Solid Earth Geophysics and Geomagnetism
    • Characteristics of the Earth’s Magnetic Field
    • Gravity and Magnetic Methods of Prospecting
  • Paleomagnetism and Geomagnetism
    • Magnetostratigraphy of Lake Sediments
    • Evolution of Deccan Traps
  • Meteorite Impact Craters
    • Lonar Crater Lake, Maharashtra
  • Environmental Magnetism and Sediment
    • Deep Sea, Lake and Himalayan Glacier Sediments
    • Magnetic Proxy Studies of Paleoclimate and Environmental Pollution 
  • Archaeomagnetic Dating of Ancient Pottery, Bricks and Kilns
    • Collapse of Harappan civilization
  • Paleoseismology and Tsunami Deposits
    • Earthquake Recurrence Intervals
    • Neotectonics
Professional Appointments: 



  • 2012- 19-Visiting Faculty, Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences, UM–DAE, Mumbai.
  • 2018- Member, Int. Ocean Discovery Program (IODP)- India, Review Committee, MoES.
  • 2017- Member, Lonar Conservation Committee, Conservator of Forests, Maharashtra.
  • 2015- Member, Young Scientist Expert Committee, Earth & Atmospheric Sci., SERB-DST.
  • 2014- Member, Board of Studies in Atmospheric & Space Sciences, Pune University.
  • 2014- Member, Board of Studies in Geophysics, Andhra University, Waltair.
  • 2014- Guest Editor, Sp. Issue on Research Trends in Smart Material, Int J Chem. Phys. Sci.
  • 2011- Member, Assoc. Environ. Analytical Chem. of India (AEACI), BARC, Mumbai.
  • 2011- Convener, Growth of Geomagnetism Workshop, IIG, Navi Mumbai.
  • 2009- Fellow, Society of Earth Sciences, India.
  • 2009- Member, Editorial Board, International Journal of Disaster Advances.
  • 2004- Guest Editor, Environmental Magnetism & Palaeomonsoons, JIGU Special Issue.
  • 2003- Convener, Environmental Magnetism Workshop, IIG, Navi Mumbai.
  • 2003- Fellow, Indian Geophysical Union.
  • 2002- Member, Society of Exploration Geophysicist, India.


  • 2013- Co-Convener, Rock and Mineral Magnetism, AOGS 10th Annual Meeting, Brisbane.
  • 2012- Co-Convener, Rock and Mineral Magnetism, AOGS–AGU Joint Assembly, Singapore.
  • 2012- Co-Convener, Modern and Palaeomonsoon, EGU General Assembly, Austria.
  • 2012- Member, European Geosciences Union (EGU), Germany.
  • 2012- Member, Asia Oceania Geosciences Society (AOGS), Singapore.
  • 2011- Member, American Geophysical Union (AGU), USA.
  • 2011- Indian Coordinator, Roadside Pollution Monitoring, DFG–Tübingen Univ., Germany. 
  • 2010- Indian Coordinator, HIMPACII, DFG–GFZ, Potsdam, Germany.
  • 2010- Indian Coordinator, Small Robotic Rock Drilling at Lonar, NASA–Univ. New Mexico.
  • 2008- GFZ Guest Professor, Potsdam, Germany.
  • 2008- Visiting Professor, Tübingen University, Germany.
  • 2006- Kochi International Fellow, Kochi University, Japan.
  • 2005- DFG Visiting Scientist, Tübingen University, Germany.
  • 2003-04- DFG Visiting Scientist, Tübingen University, Germany.
  • 2000-03- Indian Coordinator, HIMLAKES, DFG-Tübingen University, Germany.
  • 1999-2003- Member, Working Group IAGA (Rock Magnetism).
  • 1998-2000- Alexander von Humboldt Fellow, Tübingen University, Germany.
  • 1999- European Research Fellow, Utrecht University, Netherlands.
  • 1994-1995- British Council PDF, Liverpool University, Liverpool, UK.
Scientific Honours: 


  • 2019- Prof. CRK Murty’s Award, Geological Society India, Bangalore.
  • 2017- Fellow of Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences (APAS), Govt. of A.P., Amaravathi.
  • 2016- National Geoscience Award-2014, Ministry of Mines, Govt. of India, New Delhi.
  • 2011- The Best Citizens of India, International Publishing House, New Delhi.
  • 2011- Bharat Jyoti Award, India International Friendship Society, New Delhi.


  • 2002- Equipment Grant, Humboldt Foundation, Germany.
  • 1998-2000- Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship, AvH Foundation, Bonn, Germany.
  • 1999- European Research Fellowship, Utrecht University, Netherlands.
  • 1994-1995- British Government Fellowship, Minister for Overseas Develop., UK.