• Decrease font size Default font size Increase font size
  • Theme:
  • Blue maroon Orange

Prof. C. K. Rao


Professor - F
Electromagnetic Induction Studies
Solid Earth Geomagnetism Division




KSKGRL, Allahabad
Email: ckrao@iigs.iigm.res.in


Academic Record:

  • Ph.D. [Physics (Geophysics)], University of Mumbai, Mumbai (1998)
  • M.Sc. [Tech.] (Geophysics), Andhra University, Vishakhapatnam (1985)


  • Post Doc Research Fellow (2004-2006) at Geophysics Section, School of Cosmic Physics, Dublin Institute for Advanced studies, Dublin.
  • STA Fellowship (1999) at Geological Survey of Japan, Tsukuba.

Research Interests:

  • Electrical & Electromagnetic methods for shallow exploration · Magnetotelluric method for crustal studies in various tectonic
  • Magnetotelluric surveys across Proterozoic basins in India

Selected Publications in Refereed Journals:

  • Rao, C.K., Alan G. Jones and Max Moorkamp, The geometry of the Iapetus Suture in Central Ireland deduced from magnetotelluric study, Physics of the Earth and Planetary Interiors, 161, 134-141, doi:10.1016/j.pepi.2007.01.008, 2007.
  • Rao, C.K., Yasuo Ogawa, S.G. Gokarn and Gautam Gupta, Electromagnetic imaging of the crust across the Narmada Son lineament and Satpura horst, Central India, Earth Planets and Space, 56, N0.2, 229-238, 2004.
  • S.G. Gokarn, G. Gupta and C.K. Rao, Geoelectric structure of the Dharwar craton from magnetotelluric studies: Archean suture zone identified along Chitradurga-Gadag schist belt, Geophysical Journal International, 158, 712-28, doi:10.1046/j.1365-246x.2001.01355.x, 2004.
  • S.G. Gokarn, Gautam Gupta, C.K. Rao, and C. Selvaraj, Electrical structure across the Indus Tsangpo Suture and Shyok Suture zones in NW Himalaya using magnetotelluric studies, Geophysical Research Letters, 29(8), 4325-4328, doi:10.1029/2001GL014325,2002.
  • S.G. Gokarn, C.K. Rao and Gautam Gupta, Crustal structure in the Siwalik Himalayas using magnetotelluric studies, Earth Planets and Space, 54. No.1, 19-30, 2002.

Complete List of Publications:

Copyright © 2018 Indian Institute of Geomagnetism. All Rights Reserved. Design, Developed & Maintained by B24 E Solutions Pvt. Ltd.